Logo Platform
Company of Heroes 3
Universe banner wording

A Day in the Life of a Gameplay Designer

Copied to clipboard!
2 years ago
Feb 15, 2022, 9:34:05 PM

Hey folks, my name is Andy F. I’m a game designer on the Gameplay team for Company of Heroes 3. We wanted to give you a high-level look at what a game designer does on a typical day working on a game like this. 

Let’s run through what happened Tuesday February 8th. On that day I had a couple of meetings, a playtest, and some bugs to fix on some upgrades I had made last week that I’d noticed in a playtest. 

I kick off the workday at 8:45am, my dog is walked, and my coffee is hot so I’m well prepared to dive in. On our team we begin with a “start of day” message in a gameplay team channel; everyone posts a quick overview of what they’re going to be working on today which is valuable information for the rest of the team to be able to glance at, especially while we’re working from home. 

From there it’s time to sync to a build that completed overnight and get into the editor. Before meetings kick off around 10:00am I have a chance to dig into some bugs and start getting into fixes.  

Tuesday mornings have a large block of time dedicated to playtesting and discussion. At 10:30am we get into a group call and play out several multiplayer matches among the design team. The designer in charge of this playtest has requested we focus on the infantry relationships in the opening minutes of the game, so we stop the match and evaluate the recent tuning changes before we reset and test again. After playing several matches, a more thorough discussion of what we’ve seen takes place and action items for the balance designers are agreed upon.